You can manage any of your classes in Flocabulary under the My Classes tab. Select the class you want to manage, and you can choose to view assignments, access your class roster, and manage your class settings.
In this article, we will look at how you can:
- View Assignments
- View and edit student information
- Add students to your class
- Add co-teachers to your class
- Edit your class details
- Archive your class
From the Assignments tab, you can view current and upcoming assignments as well as past assignments. You can also make new assignments from this screen by clicking on the blue "Create an Assignment button.
Learn more about creating assignments and viewing assignment results.
View and Edit Student Information
From the Students tab, you can view all students rostered in your class on Flocabulary. You can see their first and last name, username, and if Immersive Reader or elementary filter is enabled for that class.
If you hover over individual students, you will see a blue pencil icon to edit the student information and a red minus icon to remove the student from your class. Click on the pencil icon to edit the student information.
A pop-up will appear where you can edit the student's first name, last name, or username. You can also change the student's password. Click on "Update Student" once you have made the changes.
Note: For students rostered through Clever or Single Sign On (SSO) through Google or Office 365, you will not be able to edit their information. This information is controlled by the SSO provider.
To remove a student from your class, click on the red minus icon.
A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm removing the student from your class. Select "Remove Student" to remove the student from the class roster.
If you manually created your classes on Flocabulary, you can send an email to invite students to join your class by clicking on "Send Invites."
You can then choose to select contacts to invite from Google, or you can enter the email addresses manually. This will send each selected student an email with a link to join your class.
You will also be able to view and copy your class code from this section if you want your students to create their accounts by going to www.flocabulary.com/join-class and entering the class code.
If you imported your class from Google Classroom, you can use the Sync Roster button to add or remove students from your Flocabulary classes.
With a Flocabulary Plus license, you can add co-teachers to your class. If you created your class directly on Flocabulary, you can click “Invite Teachers” to email an invitation to your co-teacher. If you imported your class from Google Classroom, your co-teacher will have been created during the import process. Click “Sync Roster” to re-sync the class if you don’t see them.
Learn more about how to add co-teachers here.
In the Class Details section, you can edit the class name, grade and subject. You can also turn Immersive Reader and the Elementary Filter on or off. Click on the "Edit" button in this section to make the changes.
Make the desired changes and click on "Edit Class" to save the changes.
When a class is no longer active (e.g. at the end of the school year) you can archive that class. To archive the class, click on the "Archive Class" button at the bottom of the Manage Class page.
Your class will now appear in the Archived Classes section of your main My Classes page. Click "Show" to see archived classes. When a class is archived, you cannot review rosters or results, and new students cannot sign up in the class.
If needed, you can restore an archived class to make it active again. After clicking on the "Show" button, click on "Restore" for the class that you want to make active.